Spark Autoland...what went wrong?

First off, I’m very new to drones. Just got back from vacation in Oahu and had a super close call with my spark. Was in tripod mode, near a cliff over water, and all of a sudden the drone just started going down. I was able to steer it sideways and was extremely lucky that it crashed on the small section of the jagged cliff and could retrieve it. So…what went wrong? Just tried uploading my flight log but apparently no can do since I’m a new member…? I’ve reviewed the log and there were no error messages, 77% battery…the thing just started beeping and went down in an auto land. Looking for any thoughts as I obviously never want to experience that again.

Link to Flight Log

The Spark descended because you had the throttle (left stick) in the down position. If you drag the green dot across the bar beneath the flight log map, you can see the positions of the sticks here:

Thanks for the response. I did notice the downward throttle in the log and thought it was weird, as I def did not hold it down for that long. So, after replacing my broken propellers I took it out and tested this out. Looks like if I hold full throttle down for a sec or so, it comes down. If I hold up afterward it saves it. I know I tried throttling up prior to the crash, is there a time limit (say a few seconds) that I need to throttle up and get out of auto crash land mode?

Per the flight log, something was holding the stick in the downward position.

The distance the Spark needs to stop depends on how fast it’s traveling and what mode you’re flying in. It would be best to test this outside so you can see how the Spark responds after releasing the throttle.

BTW, your Spark was not in auto crash land mode. It was simply descending because that’s what the remote controller was commanding it to do.