RTH consistently misses by 100 to 250 feet

I’m a relatively new drone pilot, flying my Phantom 4 for about 6 months. Although I have been able to solve most problems through reading forums and manuals, I’m having one serious issue that I simply cannot solve and hope that someone here can help.

My P4 never returns to within 100 feet of its Home Point. I mean never. The Flight Log link below is from a short test flight I did this morning. Before flying, I calibrated the IMU and the compass. (For the compass calibration, I purposely went away from all metal and even removed my cell phone, watch, etc. from the drone area.)

My RTH altitude was set at 50 m.

I flew out about 615 ft horizontally from the Home Point at an altitude of 135 ft. I initiated RTH at 1m 53.6m. The P4 ascended to its correct RTH altitude and headed home in the right direction. But it stopped returning and started to Auto Land at 2m 46.3s at a distance of 254 feet from the Home Point. When it had descended straight down to 82 feet altitude, I cancelled RTH and brought it back manually with no problem.

This happens every time I use RTH and I can’t help but think there is a problem with my bird’s navigation system. Or is there something I am missing? Any help or advice will be welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks.

https://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/3NF3ZGNPYY9TY68FJVW7

1 Like

Your TXT flight log does not show why it started to auto land at 2m 46s. Maybe take a look at the DAT flight log? You might find some more details there related to the RTH activity.

I’m a bit confused about .DAT files. I was able to find .DAT files on my iPad using iTunes on a Windows computer, but also able to download .DAT files using DJI Assistant. I tried looking at both types using CsvView, but with not much luck.

Can you direct me to something that explains how to view and analyze .DAT files?
Thanks.

You’ll need the DAT flight log from the aircraft. Follow these instructions.

Hello ,