FAA Request for input

The FAA is proposing new drone regulations. They are asking for comments from drone operators, particularly commercial and fleet operators. ALL COMMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY APRIL 15th. Any thoughts on what suggestions we should submit? I am just a hobby operator, and don’t fly as much as I would like, because of all the restricted airspace close to me. I certainly don’t want more cumbersome restrictions, but I know that more regulation is necessary.

More details can be found here in the DJI newsroom:

I reviewed the proposed rules and summarized it into these main points:

• Current FAA regulations do not permit Part 107 operators to fly at night without a waiver

• Current FAA regulations do not permit Part 107 operators to fly over a person who is not directly participating in the operation without a waiver

• This rule proposes to allow routine operations over people without a waiver or exemption if:

• (1) The drone weights less than 0.55 pounds. The FAA determined that small unmanned aircraft weighing less than 0.55 pounds pose a low risk of injury when operating over people.

• (2) For drone weighing more than 0.55 pounds, the FAA proposes a set of performance-based requirements that would allow operation over people if the manufacturer can demonstrate that the injury would be below a certain severity threshold if the drone crashed into a person. The manufacturer would be responsible for designing the drone to meet the following:

• Not to result in an injury as severe as the injury that would result from a transfer of 11 ft-lbs of kinetic energy from a rigid object

• Drone would not have exposed rotating parts that could lacerate human skin

• No drone could be operated over people if it has an FAA-identified safety defect

• The manufacturer would be required to prove to the FAA that the drone met these injury threshold requirements

• (3) For drone weighing more than 0.55 pounds, a second higher injury threshold category requires: